Halloween!

I say! Quite a wintery night for a Halloween!

I say! Quite a wintery night for a Halloween!

Fall has fast become one of my favorite times of the year, especially right around Halloween. Last weekend, J & I spent an afternoon carving our pumpkin, and of course I had to make the most of the seeds. Last year I tried sweet seeds and spicy seeds, but this year I wanted to try something different. Particularly because our pumpkin did not yield many seeds.

I searched through one of my favorite cookbooks which I received last Christmas from my brother. I’ve become so depend on the internets to find recipes, but every once in a while I like to search my small library of cookbooks. The recipe for pumpkin muffins with candied pepitas looked fairly simple and quick (some of the recipes in the book do take up a fair amount of time and technique). One setback was that the pumpkin seeds needed to dry overnight, but I wasn’t bothered too much since I could just make this in the morning in time for a late breakfast.

I laid the seeds out to dry precisely as the author instructed, but in the morning, I did not find the seeds to be much drier. I proceeded to continue with the baking despite this.  The directions were easy to follow and it took me about 40 minutes (give or take 10 minutes) to prepare the batter. Another plus was that the canned pumpkin and seeds were the only ingredients I don’t normally have on-hand. The book says they take 25-35 minutes, but mine came out perfectly at 20 minutes. I somehow managed to resist them for the 20-minutes instructed to cool.

Muffins

The muffins came out perfectly moist with just the right amount of sweetness. The seeds, however, did not provide the candied crunchiness I hoped for. In fact, I removed them from my muffin and suggested J do the same. He did not seem to  have the same distaste for them as I did. I’m sure it was a matter of time or the temperature and moisture in my kitchen that prevented the seeds from achieving that crunchiness the book promised.  I do however think these muffins are worth baking again with the seeds, and I’m looking forward to baking a few tonight with the leftover batter.

Check out pics of our other Halloween treats!

Mummy Dogs

Wrap hot dogs (cut in 1/2) in croissant dough and add peppercorns for eyes. Bake for about 15-17 minutes.

Also check out this super simple, but oh-so-tasty recipe for Spider Web dip. I used my ‘famous’ homemade guacamole rather than store-bought guac. I don’t have a recipe per say but here are the basics:

Spiderweb Taco Dip!

Ingredients
4 ripe avocados
1/2 large red onion, diced
cilantro
minced garlic
paprika
chile powder
1/2 lime
salt

Add lime juice and avocados to a small bowl and mash avocados until the large chunks are gone. Add seasonings, onions, and cilantro and mix well. Taste test with a tortilla chip and keep taste testing until the taste is to your desire:)

I also made these delicious pumpkin gingersnap cookies, but they were eaten before I could take a picture. I think I will have to bake them again this week & dedicate a post to them because they were that good.
Happy Halloween!

One response

Leave a Reply

