Christmas Baking

One of my favorite things about Christmas time is it gives me an excuse to bake. Between parties, cookie exchanges, hungry friends and co-workers, there’s always a way to use a new recipe or revisit a favorite. I think I did more baking than ever this year, and Christmas is still days away.

Here are a few of the delicious treats I baked this year.

Triple Chocolate Peppermint Treats

I tested out this recipe for triple chocolate peppermint treats on a baking day with friends a couple of weeks ago. White chocolate is not one of my favorite things (heck, it’s not even really chocolate!), but it was subtle enough in this rich chocolatey cookie.

Although they were delicious, I decided against making those for baking day. I felt there were too many steps and too many supplies needed to make them when sharing a kitchen with several other bakers.

Instead the Washington Post cookie guide came out just in the nick of time, and I ended up making salty chocolate nutella thumbprints from the ladies of Whisked! My cookies spread out (I suppose my oven or ingredients were too warm), so I resorted to spreading the nutella on top. While they may not have looked as perfect as the WaPo photo, they were the perfect mix of salty-sweet and easy to make.

My nutella thumbprints are in there somewhere

I took the cookies to a cookie exchange, and hopefully they were enjoyed by all the chocolate lovers!

A good friend gave me Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook for my birthday, so I decided to make one of the recipes for her tacky sweater party last weekend. Initially I wanted to make a chocolate spice cupcake, but ultimately I baked gingerbread cupcakes since they were more Christmasy.

The recipe suggested white frosting, but I thought brown sugar cream cheese frosting would go nicely with the cupcake. I am so glad I made the substitution! The cupcakes themselves were some of the moistest cupcakes I’ve ever tasted (possibly because I used extra-large eggs). The frosting paired perfectly with the flavors in the cupcake. I didn’t have time to type up the recipe from the cookbook, but this looks basically like the one I used.  The frosting recipe, also from Martha Stewart, is as follows:

Frosting

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup packed light-brown sugar (I used dark because that’s what I had)

I also added cinnamon, vanilla, and a touch of nutmeg to bring a little more flavor to the frosting.  Just beat everything together with an electric mixer until it’s the desired consistency. You’ll probably also have some leftover.

Gingerbread Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

I’m looking forward to doing a little more baking when I’m home in NC, so I’ll try to do a Christmas Baking: Part II in the coming weeks! Happy holidays, y’all!

Leave a Reply

