Christmas Baking Part II

Whew. Just like that Christmas has come and gone. Each year it seems to go by even quicker than the last. Luckily, I packed in as much baking as possible when I was home in North Carolina.

Every year, my next-door neighbors hold a Christmas Eve Open House with lots of delightful brunch foods and Bloody Marys to wash everything down.

Cheddar Biscuits

Since I didn’t have much time to cook for this, I went with an old stand-by: cheddar biscuits from the How to Cook everything app. The recipe was actually for cheese straws, but it saves a lot of time if you just form them into small round biscuits.

For a family function Christmas Eve afternoon, I used a family recipe for  vegetable dip. Basically I use 16 ounces of cream cheese (softened), a shredded carrot, 1/2 small onion (chopped), a few strips of chopped green pepper, and hot sauce to taste. So simple, but so delicious!

Since my friend’s cookie exchange several weeks ago, I’ve been looking for a reason to bake candy cane biscotti that someone brought. Christmas Eve sounded like as good an excuse as any. Unfortunately, I forgot to read the last line of the directions and I didn’t put the candy cane pieces in at the right time. I ended up crushing them into the dough once I had formed the logs on the cookie sheet. They ended up okay, but not as sweet and pepperminty as I would have liked. Also, I used white chocolate chips since my Podunk grocery store didn’t have bar chocolate, and they worked fine for me, although they did harden towards the end.

Candy Cane Biscotti

Christmas Day is spent at my grandma’s house, usually at breakfast time, but it being on a Sunday this year, we headed there after church. My grandma takes care of most of the cooking (oyster stew, sausage and egg casserole, homemade ham biscuits!), but I like to bring one dish.

Last year I didn’t get a chance to go to the grocery store, so I used what we had in the fridge and I ended up with a delicious overnight eggnog french toast casserole. This year I just went with milk instead of eggnog, but the casserole turned out fantastic! I used croissants instead of brioche (see: Podunk grocery store), making it extra caloric and delicious!  My aunt also brought a crème brûlée french toast casserole, but we had so many hungry relatives, only one serving remained uneaten at the end of the day. What can I say, we love to eat!

What did you bake for this holiday season?

Leave a Reply

